« Managing RIA's [1]: Introduction | Home | Usability For The Web »

Climbing The SLM Maturity Ladder

Illustration: Gartner IT Management Process Maturity Model
Gartner IT Maturity Model

Last week, one of my posts introduced Peter Armstrong's paper about IT-Business alignment. BMC has just published a new whitepaper by Peter -- Taking IT to the Next Level -- about the challenges IT organizations face as they evolve from a cost center to a creator of business value.

Peter uses the Gartner IT Management Process Maturity Model to represent the five possible maturity levels of IT organizations. The model is pictured above (click to view a larger version), and described in this pdf.

This is an excellent way for companies to measure their progress in implementing systematic Service Level Management (SLM) processes. In his whitepaper, Peter is focusing on climbing the ladder from Level 3 (Proactive) to Levels 4 (Service) and 5 (Value).

It occurs to me that a Maturity Model may be the corporate equivalent of a Twelve-Step Program -- to get better you must first admit you have a problem. That's why so many companies are still stuck at Level 1 (Chaotic), while others who are forever coping with the problem of the day at Level 2 (Reactive) would be really happy to establish to firm foothold at Level 3!

[This post was first published on Blogger on November 16, 2005.]

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>